Contact us

Protecting our precious places

2013 Trust Directors election results

14 March 2013

QEII National Trust members have elected Dr Megan Balks and James Hunter to serve as Directors on the National Trust’s Board.

Dr Megan Balks is a soil science expert and has over 20 years of teaching and research experience in soil and environmental sciences at Waikato University. Megan and her husband own a small hill country sheep farm on Mt Pirongia which includes over 20ha of covenanted lowland forest.

James Hunter is a fifth generation farmer at Porangahau in central Hawke’s Bay. James and Jane Hunter’s 660ha farm has 41ha protected with open space covenants. James has won a number of environmental and farm quality awards including Supreme winner for the East Coast region in the 2012 Ballance Farm Environment Awards.

Both candidates are current Board directors and will be appointed to serve a further three-year term effective from 1 April 2013.

The QEII National Trust appointed Warwick Lampp, an independent returning officer from Electionz, to oversee the election. Around 30 percent of members returned a vote.

The QEII National Trust Board comprises six members, four of which are appointed by the Minister of Conservation and two of which are elected by QEII National Trust members.

QEII National Trust is QEII National Trust helps private landowners in New Zealand protect significant natural and cultural features on their land with open space covenants. Open space covenants help safeguard forever special features like landscapes, forest remnants, wetlands, lakes, threatened species habitats, geological features and cultural heritage sites.

More information: Anne McLean, Communications Advisor, 04 472 6626

MoST Content Management V3.0.6374